Face of the Bass - eponymous album - 2011 | Animal Music
Face of the Bass
Face of the Bass

Face of the Bass

FACE OF THE BASS is a debut album by the eponymous nu-jazz formation, originally a trio founded by the bassist Jaromír Honzák together with the pianist Beata Hlavenková and drummer Roman Vícha. The album consists of seven original compositions complemented with two impressive cover-versions: “Dancing Queen” by ABBA and “Poor Leno” by the Norwegian electronic duo Royksöpp. Combining jazz with electronic music and the minimalist elements of dance music, the project creates its own original genre: “acoustic drum & bass”. On this album, the line-up has been complemented by the pianist Michal Nejtek and the saxophonist Marcel Bárta. 

ANI 025-2
10,50 €
16bit / 44.1kHz
(Beata Hlavenková)
Majesty Time
(Jaromír Honzák)
Night Peace
(Michal Nejtek)
Mysterious Face
(Jaromír Honzák)
(Michal Nejtek)
Dancing Queen
(Björn Ulvaeus, Benny Andersson, Stig Andersson, arranged by Jaromír Honzák)
Robot Dilemma
(Jaromír Honzák)
Odd Folk
(Jaromír Honzák)
Poor Leno
(Svein Berge, Torbjørn Brundtland, Erlend Øye, arranged by Jaromír Honzák)
Personnel and sound:

Beata Hlavenková – piano, Fender Rhodes & keys
Michal Nejtek – keys, piano & sampler
Marcel Bárta – soprano saxophone & bassclarinet
Roman Vícha – drums, percussions & sampler
Jaromír Honzák – acoustic bass
String orchestra (track 7 & 9)


Recorded and mixed by Milan Cimfe (Sono Records, Nouzov/CZ)
Mastered by Gene Paul (DB Plus, New York/USA)

Press Release:


The partners of Animal Music to which goes
our big thank-you!